Again, it's been hard to write the blog, but that's not because I've had no insights through my reading.  Today I will read the last 9 pages of my first time through the book of mormon this year.  It has been an indescribable experience.  I've always been confident that the book of mormon was a true, god-given document, but now any doubts i had have been shattered.  There is just no other fathomable explanation for its origin, and the spirit i feel when i read it, and the personal revelation and guidance it brings is unmatched.  Never turn your nose up at the Book of Mormon.  It is a work that has withstood the test of time, and if it is read with an open mind, it will withstand anyone's tests.  I am so grateful for it.  I love this verse at the end of Ether 12:  "And now, I would commend you to seek this Jesus of whom the prophets and apostles have written that the grace of god the Father, and also the Lord Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost, which beareth record of them, may be and abide in you forever.  Amen."  I wish that everyone would take that invitation, but no.  The end of Ether is a truly sad story as two civilizations destroy one another.  It rends one's heart, as I know it rends the heart of the father of us all, but as he has said countless time throughout this work, he will not uphold people in wickedness.  Wickedness, which almost always begins with selfishness and self-indulgence, brings about downfall of civilizations, not just the individual.  We must continually watch ourselves to see that we are meek, humble, submissive, easy to be entreated, God-fearing, loving, selfless, and striving in every way to follow Christ and his teachings.



Leave a Reply.