This is arguably the best part of the Book of Mormon because we are to sit back and listen to the Savior teach us.  It's difficult to get through, actually, because I've basically highlighted every word that Christ has said.  There is so much I'd like to quote and comment on, but the prospect is a little daunting to me right now so i'll just mention a few things: 
    1:  Christ is very specific in how we should treat those in our midst who are "unworthy."  We are not to "cast them out of our synagogues."  (3 Ne. 18:31) so we are to embrace those of us who may be struggling, so that they might see a congregation as a place to come home to.  People who commit sin feel unworthy already.  They suffer a Godly and a personal condemnation which through repentance they can overcome.  Our condemnation is both unnecessary and unrighteous on our part. (I say our, but I do not exclude myself from the other side, for are we not all sinners?)
    2:  After Christ teaches in chapter 16 he says in chapter 17:2-3 "I perceive that ye are weak, that ye cannot understand all my words which I am commanded of the Father to speak unto you at this time.  Therefore, go ye unto your homes, and ponder upon the things which I have said, and ask of the Father, in my name, that ye may understand, and prepare your minds for the morrow and i come unto you again."  From these verses we learn a few things, the first being that we don't even have to rely on Christ's words at face value.  we can and should seek spiritual confirmation of spiritual teachings.  the second would be that if we prepare our minds, we will have greater capacity to understand the words which the Lord has to teach us.
    3:  3 Ne 21:10 "But behold, the life of my servant shall be in my hand; therefore they shall not hurt him, although he shall be marred because of them.  Yet I will heal him, for I will show unto them that my wisdom is greater than the cunning of the devil."  And it always will be.  the devil is cunning and crafty.  He will make people believe that good is evil and evil is good, but their wicked ways will last but a moment in the grand scheme of things and we are eternally admonished to endure to the end that we may have everlasting life and partake of the better part. 



Leave a Reply.