There is so much in Helaman that explains clearly why people become wicked, and why God doesn't support them in their wickedness.  I'll cite here just one example.
    Helaman 12:2-3 "Yea, and we may see at the very time when he doth prosper his people, yea, in the increase of their fields, their flocks and their herds, and in gold, and in silver, and in all manner of precious things of every kind and art; sparing their lives, and delivering them out of the hands of their enemies; softening the hearts of their enemies that they should not declare wars against them; yea, and in fine, doing all things for the welfare and happiness of his people; yea, then is the time that they do harden their hearts, and do forget the Lord their God, and do trample under their feet the Holy One--yea, and this because of their ease, and their exceedingly great prosperity.  And thus we see that except the Lord doth chasten his people with many afflictions, yea, except he doth visit them with death and with terror, and with famine and with all manner of pestilence, they will not remember him."  And again, he wants us to remember him and worship him 1- so he can bless us, and 2- so that we don't become corrupt and wicked and set our hearts upon worldly things.  i've never seen any citation that would lead me to believe that he wants to be worshiped merely for the sake of being worshiped and adored.  it is ALL for our benefit.
    Another scripture I want to cite here that is everything to do with my conversion is Helaman 10:6, just the first line:  "Behold, thou art Nephi, and I am God."  The first time i read this i remember a very strong sensation in my heart.  A physical sensation, not just an emotional one, that testified to me that God is God, and as such he knows my name.  He knows my needs and how to succor and support me.  He knows the trials I need to reach my potential, and he knows how to give me comfort in those trials so that I will not become discouraged.  As I can call Him by name, so he can call me by name.  And he wants to know me and to have that personal relationship with me because I am his daughter.  If I love my daughter with everything I am and all I have in me, I can't imagine how much capacity an infinite, omnipotent and perfect person has to love me.



Leave a Reply.