Jacob has to be one of my favorite prophets in the Book of Mormon.  In fact Jacob 4 is arguably my favorite chapter.  Today, however, I'd like to start with a beautiful verse in chapter 3.  It's funny that this verse is found here because most of the chapter is Jacob chastising his people for their sins.  Verse 2 says "O all ye that are pure in heart, lift up your heads and receive the pleasing word of God, and feast upon his love; for ye may, if your minds are firm, forever."  How do the eternal banquets of God taste to those who are pure in heart and of a firm mind?  I'm sure I've sampled a bit here and there, and those samples I've had have been sweet indeed, but I am reminded here of a quote from Pride and Prejudice, Elizabeth and Jane speaking of how happy Jane is with her Mr. Bingley.  Jane tells Elizabeth that she hopes that she will find someone who will make Elizabeth just as happy as Mr. Bingley has made Jane.  Elizabeth responds, "If you were to give me forty such men, I could never be so happy as you.  Till I have your disposition, your goodness, I never can have your happiness."  I wonder how true this statement may be?
    For a minute I'm just going to quote Jacob:  'Behold, great and marvelous are the works of the Lord.  How unsearchable are the depths of the mysteries of him; and it is impossible that man should find out all his ways.  And no man knoweth all his ways save it be reveled unto him; wherefore, brethren, despise not the revelations of God. (4:8)" "Wherefore, brethren, seek not to counsel the Lord, but to take counsel from his hand.  For behold, ye yourselves know that he counseleth in wisdom, and in justice, and in great mercy, over all his works. (4:10)" "...the Spirit speaketh the truth and lieth not.  Wherefore it speaketh of things as they really are, and of things as they really will be; wherefore, these things are manifested unto us plainly, for the salvation of our souls.  But behold, we are not witnesses alone in these things; for God also spake them unto prophets of old. (4:13)"  One thing I have often been grateful for is my ability to be moved by a still small voice.  I've determined that I don't need thunderings, lightnings, burnings, or any other kinds of signs in order to have a spiritual knowledge and witness of God and his Son and their love for us and their plan for us.  I've always been able to follow the subtleties and these have given me great strength.  I do not pretend to understand God and who He is and what all of his plans are from the beginning, but I know he lives and I know he loves me and that he does all things for my good, thus, I feel no need to have a perfect understanding of all things, nor do I feel that I am capable of it.  The gaining of knowledge is an eternal process and if I maintain a firm mind I have full confidence that through the Milena I may yet gain a full understanding. 
7/14/2012 07:19:49 pm

will come back quickly

Reply
9/27/2012 08:58:39 pm

will return before long

Reply



Leave a Reply.